Walter De Gruyter

div>As an independent academic publisher disseminating excellent scholarship since 1749, we remain true to our founding spirit, yet also have ambitious plans for the future. Thanks to our proactive ...
We publish over 1,500 books and 16,000 journal articles every year, across 30 subject areas. This includes more than 200 books and 5,000 articles in open access. We also offer some 80 databases and online reference works, covering an extremely broad spectrum of disciplines.

Steeped in the history of Berlin, De Gruyter’s roots go back to Frederick the Great and the Königliche Realschule’s bookstore. In 1749, the Prussian King granted the bookstore the royal privilege to print and publish books. The bookstore’s publishing arm later became the leading publisher of the German Romantic Literary movement after a young publisher Georg Reimer took it over in 1801.
In 1919, Walter de Gruyter successfully purchased and merged five publishing houses into one: the Vereinigung wissenschaftlicher Verleger Walter de Gruyter & Co. — Union of Scientific Publishers Walter de Gruyter & Co. The four companies to come on board were the well-known publisher of classical German literature Georg Joachim Göschen, the renowned publisher of law literature J. Guttentag Verlagsbuchhandlung, the natural sciences, medicine and mathematics publisher Veit & Comp. and the humanities and social sciences publisher Karl J. Trübner.